Really?

img_3536Oh joy.  It’s February.  Valentine’s Day.  I am behind on my cool mom stuff I always try to do.  I don’t have my décor up.  I am sure being sick the past 3 weeks may have something to do with it.  But I have the mom guilt.  If you are a mom, then you know what I mean.  Mom guilt makes no sense.  But we have it.

 

 


My brain has been frazzled recently, and I am playing catch up.  My nine year old comes in and is like a F3 on a daily basis.  I have days where I just don’t know what to do.  And then I have days like this one.

I had to go get my driver’s license renewed.  Again.  Long story. I was gone during the afternoon.  My boys go their dad’s house every other weekend.  I had told my son that I needed his homework and Valentine Cards for school to be filled out before they left Friday.  I tell him a lot of things.  He sees a lot of squirrels.  He forgets a lot.  He is also a nine year old boy.  Some of it comes honestly, some of it naturally. He’s smart, creative, great heart, and truly just wants to make people happy.  He is also impulsive, emotional, and hard on himself.

I finally got home after being gone all afternoon and found this.  He had taken out ALL of the tissues from the tissue box and placed them in the shoe box.  At first glance, I had that parenting reaction of “why would you do that?”  And then I took a breath.  What am I going to do?  So I looked inside the tissue box and found his Valentine Cards filled out and ready for school.

So what am I going to do?  I am going to suggest that we go about it differently next time.  But before that, I am going to praise him.  I am going to tell my squirrel chasing son that I am proud of him for taking the initiative and not only taking care of his Valentine cards, but for taking extra initiative and completing his homework. (I still have to check it)  I am going to CHOOSE not to turn this into a battle.  It is not necessary.

So to those that would like to accuse me of raising an irresponsible, impulsive, uncaring and disrespectful child.  I am sorry that you are so angry and disappointed in your life that you have to constantly put other people down.  I will pray for you to have a change of heart.  I am sorry that you think the only way to influence a child in a positive manner is with fear and negativity.  There is a difference between discipline fear, and fear of you as whole.  Teaching and praising is not always easy.  It’s easy to point out all the wrong things.  God wants us to lift them up and raise them to help advance His kingdom.  I assure you that won’t happen if the devil is always the one whispering in their ear.

 

This entry was posted in ADHD and ADD, anxiety, Current Posts, Daily Living, Jesus, Mental Health, Mindfullness, parenting, Thankful, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

