Children Learning Truth

img_2925One of the greatest gifts we can give our children is the ability to be honest.  To teach them that lying is a sin.  We are just going to call it what it is.  One of the things that seems to be hard to overcome is explaining good vs. evil. I suppose it depends on where your religious views lie.

 

 

 


Obviously, God tells us not to sin by lying.  So is there a difference in a good lie versus a bad lie?  Let’s get some real going on here.  We tell our children Santa Clause is coming.  Yes there was a man.  But, there is no real fat rosy cheek guy squeezing through our chimney. Or wiggling his nose because someone doesn’t have a chimney.  Look, I get it.  I almost feel bad looking at my youngest and even talking about Santa.  And trying to convince my 9 year old he is real.  Why do we do this?  Ultimately, because that’s what we were raised with.  This year was a huge struggle for me.  There I was teaching the kids that we celebrate Christmas because our Savior was born.  Teaching the one true meaning of giving and loving others.  Yet I was still talking about the man in the sleigh. It’s almost February, and it still bugs me. *enter huge sigh*

So I have been trying to explain to my little ones that all good things come from God and all bad things come from the Devil.  Including choices that we make.  If we are tempted to yell or hit, that is not from God.  Using our words, that is from Him. Why do good people get hurt by people that are “bad guys?”  Because they don’t know Jesus.  It is a choice to listen to God or the Devil.  And as little ones, it’s very confusing.  My daughter seems to get it (per her comment above), but not to the full extent.

We have free will.  We have the freedom to follow God’s word though we may stand alone.  We have free will to ignore God’s voice, listen to the enemy, and go be hurtful.  It is our personal choice as adults who we listen to.  When the time comes, I want to be held accountable for listening to the GOOD, and turning away from the BAD.  I want my children to witness me walking in God’s good things, not the bad things from the Devil.  There will be days that I fail, and I want my kids to witness repentance.  The best learning is hands on.

This entry was posted in anxiety, Current Posts, Daily Living, Jesus, Mental Health, Mindfullness, parenting, Thankful, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

