Revelation in the cold

eskimo*Definition of super cold: ME

I promise all you have to do is ask someone who knows me.  It is 73 degrees in my house right now, and I have on fuzzy socks with a sweatshirt over my t-shirt.  I have on jeans cause I am too cold to go look for my sweats.  Some call it lazy. No, really I am just cold.  Maybe being cold makes me lazy.  See there?  We both win.

 


Some of you will relate to this one.  Two pair of socks.  Get in shower.  Feet proceed to have the burning sensation as the warm water falls on them.  I just don’t get it.  My iron level seems to be fine by the way.  So as I am defrosting in the shower, thinking that I will be nice and toasty soon a thought jumps into my head.  Like jumped-popped-yelled at me if you must.

I stood there in the shower complaining of being cold, of my poor little feet being uncomfortable, and there are people who have no warm shower to defrost in.  Seriously, the domino effect began.  Not only are there people without warm water, there are people without water period!  It gets even better!  There are people with no shower, no home, and no socks.

Who in the world do I think I am to sit here grumbling about being cold when there are people who go without all of their basic needs being met on a daily basis?  Who am I to complain about the blessings I have been given?  There are so many with so much less that do nothing but smile. I found myself repenting to God, asking forgiveness, and wishing I was strong enough in all forms to just end all of the poverty.  I want everyone to have socks, food, water, shelter, you name it.  I want them to be blessed in the same way God has blessed me and my family.

We are such a spoiled people.  How many of us forget that EVERYTHING good comes from our Lord and Savior?  No matter how small.  Even your next breath.

1 Thessalonians 5:8 says “Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Psalm 69:30   I will praise the name of God with song, and shall magnify  Him with thanksgiving.

1 Timothy 4:4-5   For everything created by God is good, and nothing is to be rejected, if it is received with gratitude; for it is sanctified by means of the word of God and prayer.

So I will most likely fail and find myself moaning and groaning again.  But I pray that I will catch myself quickly.  I will do my best to appreciate and give thanks to God for everything.  Ultimately, all of our blessings come from Him.  If we want to continue to be a blessed people, we must continue to give thanks and gratitude and love on those less fortunate.  There is always something you can do.

 

This entry was posted in ADHD and ADD, anxiety, cold, Current Posts, Daily Living, Jesus, Mental Health, Mindfullness, parenting, Thankful, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

