Overcoming Society

chosenI remember going through some things in my childhood and teenage years that completely had me NOT loving myself.  Any path I had to God was not directed daily in my life.  I don’t know what His plan is for me, but He has helped me overcome so many things even before I had faith.  That is love.  Society has a different outlook on what love should look like, and many times I don’t feel it is in line with what God says about us.


It’s really not hard to guess what “love” should be.  Lots of money, lots of things, high social status, that just names a few.  I can honestly say that I still don’t love myself the way God wants me to.  I have a hard time wrapping my brain around such unconditional forgiving pure love.  I have come a long way.  Without those who have crossed my path and those that are in my life daily, I may still be lost.  I am not where I want to be, but I am amazed at how God is working in me.  I have come so far, and can’t imagine what lies ahead.  Even in the trials.

I am working with my kids on the Fruits of the Spirit.  My kids range in ages, so we are walking slowly and the first thing we are learning about is, well you should have guessed it, Love.  They will all tell you different things about how they think it should feel or look.  Sometimes it is not always what you want them to think.  Parents, this is where we come in.  The world is hurtful.  It isn’t getting any better.  Even those in the church can fail.  Not a judgement call, just a human fact.  So while we are blessed to have church homes and families to help guide us, ultimately it is on our shoulders to make sure our kids know a proper definition of love.  One of the biggest places that fail are kids loving themselves.

Why was I inspired to write this tonight?  Because once again God is telling me not to give up.  I asked all three of my children to tell me 3-5 things they love about themselves.  My youngest is 3, so I knew she had something. I was more concerned with what my two boys may or may not say.  They are both in school, and this year has had it’s challenges.  Both with school and things outside of it.  I was absolutely elated when they both gave me answers. Good solid answers that makes a parent’s heart melt.  I was given a glimpse of hope.  That I can’t give up.  And for them, I won’t.

I pray God wraps his love around them always and keeps them safe.  I pray I can help keep them focused on loving themselves as deeply as God does.

loved

 

This entry was posted in ADHD and ADD, anxiety, Current Posts, Daily Living, Jesus, Mental Health, Mindfullness, parenting, Thankful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Overcoming Society

  1. Debbie Yager says:

    Beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

