Clothed in Vanity

vain-mirrorI am  utterly flabbergasted at people.  More so in the  way they portray themselves to the world.  Whether it be their looks, intelligence, success-or their hairline is better than mine.(long story-elementary school thing currently-nope it does not make sense.)  It is one thing to acknowledge your talents and  another to completely use them to make other people look and/or feel inferior to you.

 

 


Some just don’t understand what it means to be humble.  Some don’t understand  that bragging is rude.  Of course there is nothing wrong in being happy with your accomplishments.  It doesn’t mean you can’t share them.  It does mean that you must understand it does not put you in a superior position to another human being.  Some just don’t understand there is only one God.  Many in this day in age have no concept of boundaries in human decency. For example, don’t be a jerk to someone to hurt their feelings so you can make yourself appear to be smarter. (I promise, you don’t look good.  You look like a jerk.)  In short, we all screw up the same way.  It’s how we behave during those moments that will make or break us in His eyes and the eyes of those around us.

What I have found is that those who boast over and over on their successes, are truly telling the same story over and over.  They have no more to tell.  Whatever it was that they did is not what is happening in the now.  But they do not seem to have the ability to leave history behind them.  They have let it define them because in truth, they have nothing else to boast about.  They have not made it further up the corporate ladder, made more money, saved the environment, adopted a country, or even said hello to the neighbor because they don’t like how their yard looks compared to their own. (yes people act that way)  And I believe it scares them.

Matthew 7:1-5 talks about judging others and being a hypocrite.  It does not say, “Do as I say not as I do.”   Romans 2:1-4 “…Do you suppose, O man, you who judge those who practice such things and yet you do them yourself-that you will escape the judgment of God?…”

I hope you are following me okay.  I know I tend to jump around.  I know in my head what I am saying, yet it may not come out on here quite the same way.  I suppose I am completely disheartened at another person’s perception of themselves that they hold themselves better or smarter, I would go so far as to say they believe they rule over others.

Back to thoughts on why.  I am sure it has something to do with the way they grew up.  Many are messed up adults because childhood pretty much sucked lemons-there was no lemonade made from it either.  I do think that it is a personal decision as an adult to break away from that.  Some things just are.  But pride and power  (or belief of power) is a choice someone makes when they refuse to deal with who they really are. (or are not)  And it is out of fear.  They may talk about faith though they have none of their own.

They may feel that they won’t be loved the same, or they will be looked down on like they look down on everyone else.  Sadly, the opposite is true and these people hold on to their delusions.  What they don’t see is everyone around them trying so desperately to love them despite the bricks and fire bombs they are throwing.  And some are just narcissistic or sociopathic and they do not have the capability to see beyond themselves. (That is a whole new page)

All this running of the mind and mouth to say remember to be humble. Do not cast yourself above another .  Follow His word.  Even when man says to go against it.  James 1:26 says, “If anyone thinks he is religious and does not bridle his tongue but deceives his heart, this person’s religion is worthless.”  Look up Matthew 6:1-7.  This scripture should cause you to question and review your ways.  Are you doing things from you heart, or because you want the ability to say you are better than someone else.  Do you want that recognition over another person so you can use it against them?

Lend a hand with the intention of receiving nothing in return.  If all you get is a smile, that is satisfaction enough. Make God proud of your creation in His image-not man’s.  Because in man’s world it will never be good enough.

Don’t be afraid to tell me that something I throw out there is confusing or you need me to clarify a thought.  It’s entirely possible that I didn’t communicate the best way.  My sister in law thinks I probably have ADD.  She just might be right. Am I going to go get screened?  Nah.  Because even though some around me may only love me with conditions, I am surrounded by some of the best people God has planted on this earth.  They love me despite my flaws and it’s unconditional. That in itself it a blessing.  And that in itself does not cause me to be prideful, but thankful and humble.

 

This entry was posted in ADHD and ADD, anxiety, Current Posts, Daily Living, Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

