Flush The Toilet Please

 

img_1646

I sat contemplating on how to begin this post.  I feel like they are becoming redundant in the introduction.  And then this came to me.  As a perfectly capable human being in an adult body (age has nothing to do with maturity as you will see), how many times on a normal daily basis have you asked someone to wipe your behind?  In all seriousness, how many times have you asked another individual to take some toilet paper and wipe for you?  Simply because you didn’t feel like doing it or because you think you are above it? Did you brush your own teeth this morning and/or last night?  And how many of you asked someone to feed you just cause you think you deserve to be treated like a queen/king?


I realize that this may be coming across quite brutal, but stay with me.  Don’t get your panties in a wad as my dad would say.  And he does.  Promise.

I had the absolute privilege of being taken to my dream concert for my birthday.  My wonderful sister in law took me to the State Fair of Texas to see Skillet perform.  I just never wanted it to end.  They are a strong Christian presence in the  music world, and have been for a very long time.  If you have not, you should check them out.  Their words tell it all.  And they ROCK! 

img_0674

As they do, the concert ended and unfortunately it was time to go home.  We waited for the majority of the crowd to leave before we even attempted to find our way out.  That’s when I saw it.  We just spent almost two hours singing out and glorifying God, and people left without carrying that with them.  His goodness.  His blessings.  His word.  His guidance.img_0687-copy img_0689-copy img_0690-copy

I was so appalled that people just left their trash laying everywhere.  There were trash cans, recycle bins, more than enough to provide adequate disposal.  Yet this is what they CHOSE to do.  I looked at my sister in law and was like, “Are you flipping kidding me?”  I was mad and embarrassed. I could not believe how lazy those who left this were.  Don’t start by telling me “They have people who clean that up.”  No they do not.  they have human beings who are there to work probably a seasonal job at not a lot of pay.  You know who cleans that up? YOU DO!  There was absolutely no excuse for people to leave their trash and half eaten food on the ground…even those sitting by the trash cans!

So, I just couldn’t do it.  I could not leave that place looking like that. My sister in law heard a father tell his child not to pick up his trash that, “They have a big machine that comes in and sweeps it all up.”  Ummm no they did not.  They had 2-3 people trying to use a regular house broom to sweep it up.  My heart was broken.  So we just did what the right thing to do was, and I began by picking up the recycle items and putting them in the recycle containers.  I was so upset, my anxiety had kicked in and my heart was racing.  How could people be so blatantly disrespectful and rude?  My sister and law was right there with me the whole way.  The workers there were extremely appreciative.  By the end of it all, 3 other people joined in the cleanup.  A younger man in his late teens, an elderly man, and a young mother with her toddler who was a new walker.

img_0695

As I cleaned up around the front stage area, I was flabbergasted for lack of a better word, at the people who just stood there watching like I had lost my mind.  Seriously?  Not one other person stepped up to be responsible. One of the security team asked why I didn’t have gloves.  I simply told him because they make soap and water.  Hands wash.

The disappointment in this generation and their parents was overwhelming.  I am not perfect.  I sure am NOT OCD.  I do however try my best to have common sense and decency, and that is really all it would have taken.  Wow.  Just wow.  There was a girl probably around 9 who was kicking trash around as I picked up beside her.  Mama bear came right out.  I told her instead of making it worse, she should be part of the solution and help clean it up.  Maybe you think I crossed a line.  Maybe I did.  Her parents were too busy talking to even notice what was happening.  Guess what?  That same girl started throwing a few things away.  And I made sure to compliment her on her efforts, and tell her thank you.  I promise you all of my kids would have been more than happy to help. And they know they would have been expected to without me having to say anything. Would they think it was gross?  Of course.  But it was the right thing to do.  Why is that so difficult?  We made sure to tell the other few who helped thank you and that they were very much appreciated and their efforts were noticed.

All that being said, the few of us that came together for the greater good set the right example.  It doesn’t make the situation less frustrating.  It does however mean that we were obedient to God and his word.  As for the other people, I pray that someone noticed and took note.  I pray that even though they left, maybe one of the many children saw what we were doing and will think about it next time.  And I am so very thankful for those of us that worked so diligently and hard out of sincerity. The picture below is the end result, and we were humbly satisfied.

img_0696

I feel good that we did the right thing.  I feel proud to walk in God’s word.

Matthew 5:16  James 4:17  Proverbs 22:6

For those who chose not to clean up after themselves, well it’s not my place to judge.  God has enough to say.

Proverbs 15:19  Proverbs 12:24  Ephesians 5:15-16

 

This entry was posted in 2016 TMS Archives, ADHD and ADD, anxiety, Current Posts, Daily Living, Mental Health, Mindfullness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

