Being Invisible in A Mass of People

 

img_3421

Some of us are social butterflies.  Some of us get diarrhea of the mouth once we are around people.  Some of us can’t shut up once we start talking about ourselves.  When people start cutting the conversation short, or giving short responses, it’s a clue that you are being too self centered.  No one wants to hurt your feelings and tell you that, but it is the truth.  Sorry to burst your bubble.  More than once I have had the Holy Spirit tap me on the shoulder and tell me to be quiet.  I am no better than anyone else.

 

 


Some of us however patiently wait our turn to speak.  Some of us choose not to speak out of fear that no one wants to hear what we have to say.  We are under the impression that our ideas sound corny, or we simply will not sound very intelligent.  Some of us stay quiet because no matter what we say, someone always has a negative to follow. (Can I get an AMEN?)  Sometimes, all we want is to share our heart with someone we love.  And we want is for them to be proud.  Sometimes, that just isn’t the case.  And while we are surrounded by people WE love, some of us are overwhelmed with loneliness.

Doesn’t it seem strange that a person can feel lonely in a crowd?  How is it possible that among all of the smiles and/or laughter someone can feel like they don’t exist at all?  Could be insecurity.  Could be they have been told that no one cares.  Could be they just are tired of reaching out and getting shoved back into the deep dark hole.  Could have nothing to do with them, but it’s the particular person(s) that have made them feel that way by the way they consistently respond to them.  By time a person is at the dark hole point, they have begun to rebuild the wall they tore down for someone else.  They don’t see the point anymore.  When someone you love says out loud they don’t have time for you or the things that are important to you, that pretty much makes the point understood.

Now comes the part that is even harder.  While it is unfortunately possible that a person does not find you a priority, there is someone who does.  He is your creator, your Heavenly Father, God Almighty.  Trust me, I know initially it doesn’t seem to make the hurt go away.  But if you dwell in His word, you can start to feel His love.  And though we are designed not to be alone, we are never truly alone in Him.  That my loves is where you must focus.  I didn’t say it was easy.  But it is what is best for you, and the only way to really know Him. Still struggling?  Because it is okay if you are. It can be hard because we can’t see Him.  We don’t necessarily feel his arms around us. You may relate well to Psalm 102:7.

There is hope.  Isaiah 41:10. A new one I have come across that I have fell in love with is 2 Timothy 4:16-18 John 14:18.  I am not telling you what they say-go find it.  Put yourself in God’s word so you can find your worth and know that you are a priority to who created you. Read them every day.  Use a dry erase marker and put them on your mirror.  Read them multiple times a day.  When you feel that anxiety, when you feel yourself falling into that dark hole, read them!! We all need the reminders of who loves us above all.

Psalm 94:16-19 

Who stood up for me against the wicked?  Who took my side against evil workers?  If God hadn’t been there for me, I never would have made it.  The minute I said, “I’m slipping, I’m falling,” your love, God, took hold and held me fast.  When I was upset and beside myself, you calmed me down and cheered me up.

You are loved, you are enough, you are worthy, and you have a purpose!

 

This entry was posted in 2016 TMS Archives, ADHD and ADD, anxiety, Current Posts, Daily Living, Mental Health, Mindfullness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

